How can I save my home from foreclosure?

March

6

2 comments

Facing foreclosure? Did you know you own your home all the way up to the day it forecloses? There are several ways to stop foreclosure and keep your home.  Here's How:

HOW TO STOP FLORIDA FORECLOSURE AND SAVE YOUR HOME

WHEN YOU'VE JUST STARTED MISSING PAYMENTS

Federal law prevents lenders from even starting a foreclosure action until you're 120 days behind. That gives you 4 months to bring the loan current or call the lender and come up with a workout solution to keep the home. It's in the lender's best financial interest to help you get current.  Don't be shy - make the call!

ONCE FORECLOSURE HAS BEGUN

It's not too late! You own the home until the foreclosure sale, which is still months away. Respond to your lawsuit and stay involved in your case. If you can bring the loan current, or come up with a workout such as a loan modification with the lender, you may be able to stop the foreclosure and keep the home. If you are unable to work out a solution to keep the home, you may consider a sale or short sale to avoid the ramifications of a foreclosure.

 AFTER THE FORECLOSURE SALE

Florida gives you a brief period of time to redeem your property after the foreclosure sale, generally no more than ten days. If you can pay the loan in full along with all the accrued fees, you can get the home back. You can redeem the home at any time before:

  • the clerk files the certificate of sale, or
  • the time stated in the foreclosure judgment, order, or decree, whichever is later. 

The key to avoiding foreclosure is to take action early! The earlier you get started, the more likely your odds of successfully stopping foreclosure and staying in your home. We specialize in helping Florida homeowners avoid foreclosure, and we can help you.

Last Updated on March 4, 2024 by Minna Reid

RELATED POSTS:

May 12, 2022

FHA short sales explained!

January 13, 2021

Is your mortgage forbearance ending? Know your options!

March 3, 2020

A guide to the Florida foreclosure process

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

    1. Depends on the lender/investor and their rules. In general, lenders will usually allow about $3k to owner occupants in a short sale, unless there are junior liens/judgments that will need to paid out of that.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}